What we’re reading: Into the Bush

We love Sandra Arensen’s book Into the Bush. I discovered it by accident – I caught a glimpse of the book over the shoulder of a woman in a shop one day. I thought the artwork was just gorgeous and couldn’t wait to add the book to Sweetpea’s bookshelf.

Watermarked Photo Arensen 5

I love children’s books about Kenya, especially ones that are well-written and beautifully illustrated (remember my post about For You are a Kenyan Child?).  Such books can be hard to come by, so I was really excited to get my hands on this one.

Watermarked Photo Arensen 6

Into the Bush was REALLY hard for me to track down.  All I had was the title and the author’s name. Luckily, my friend Google helped me find the editor, and I was able to make a special order.

Watermarked Photo Arensen 1

The story is about a young girl named Lilee, and her adventures on safari with her family. The tale is evocative – you can almost hear the sound of the hyenas crunching on bones, or the snap of the crocodile’s jaws.

Watermarked Photo Arensen 2

But what really strikes me most about this book is the amazing artwork. Sandra Arensen does her own artwork using watercolors, and the effect brings to mind spectacular stained glass windows.  The colors are vibrant, the lines are striking, and the overall impact is simply stunning.

Watermarked Photo Arensen 4

We bought this book a year and a half ago, and Sweetpea still asks for it regularly. She loves the illustrations, and she always talks about her own safari experiences when we read it. “Mommy, remember that time we saw the lion on his honeymoon?” (I’ll tell you about that another time…)

Watermarked Photo Arensen 3

If you would like to find your own copy of Into the Bush, you can have a look at Text Book Centre (Sarit or Junction).  If you have no luck there, you can reach the editor using the contact form below.  Enjoy!

About MamaMgeni

Former aid worker and current SAHM, living in Nairobi with my husband, our sassy three year old daughter, and a brand new baby girl...
This entry was posted in What We're Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What we’re reading: Into the Bush

  1. Pingback: Zanzibar (sort of.) | Thatchwork

  2. Pingback: What we’re reading: The Lion and the Mouse | Mama Mgeni

Leave a comment